Honors Chemistry Learning Targets

I just updated my general chemistry learning targets to this year’s edit and I thought I would post my honors chemistry targets as well. I picked up this prep for the first time this year so I’m sure these targets will undergo some serious edits throughout the year.

I also noticed that I switch from the language “learning goals” to “learning targets” from the last time I posted. This was due to an effort in my previous district to have everyone using the same language. I actually prefer the word “goals” for students but teachers seem to be more familiar with “targets.”

Unit 1: Physical Properties of Matter

1.1 – I can represent elements, compounds and molecules as “hard spheres” in particle models

1.2 – I can apply the Law of Conservation of Mass to situations involving chemical and physical change

1.3 – I can define mass, volume, and density in terms of a substance’s particles using appropriate units

1.4 – I can apply the relationship between mass, volume and density to solve quantitative problems
Unit 2: Energy and States of Matter Part 1

2.1 – I can represent the characteristics (motion, arrangement, and attraction) of particles in different states of matter

2.2 – I can relate the temperature of a substance to the average kinetic energy of its particles

2.3 – I can relate the pressure a gas exerts to the number of collisions its particles make with a surface

2.4 – I can determine the partial pressure of a particular gas in a mixture

2.5 – I can predict the effect of changing the pressure, volume, or temperature of a gas on other variables when two variables are held constant

2.6 – I can predict the effect of changing the pressure, volume, or temperature of a gas on other variables when one variable is held constant

Unit 3: Energy and States of Matter Part 2

3.1 – I can describe the energy transfer between a system and its surrounding during a phase or temperature change as endothermic or exothermic

3.2 – I can recognize that energy can be stored in an object or system as thermal energy or phase energy

3.3 – I can draw an energy bar graph to account for energy transfer and storage in all sorts of changes

3.4 – I can identify phases present and the various phase change temperatures for substances from a heating/cooling curve

3.5 – I can state the physical meaning of heat of fusion, heat of vaporization, and heat capacity

3.6 – I can calculate the quantity of energy transferred, mass of substance involved, or temperature change for a system that has undergone a temperature change

3.7 – I can calculate the quantity of energy transferred, mass of substance involved, or temperature change for a system that has undergone a phase change
Unit 4: Describing Substances

4.1 – I can distinguish among elements, compounds, pure substances, and mixtures

4.2 – I can distinguish between solutions, suspensions and colloids and describe the unique properties of each

4.3 – I can predict the effects of various factors on rates of dissolution

4.4 – I can determine how the boiling point and freezing points of a solution differ from those of a pure substance

4.5 – I can state features of Dalton’s model of the atom
Unit 5: Particles with Internal Structure

5.1 – I can explain how ions are formed and how they combine to form neutral substances

5.2 – I can determine the oxidation numbers for various elements in a compound

5.3 – I can distinguish between metals and nonmetals and describe the unique properties of each

5.4 – I can distinguish between ionic, molecular, and atomic solids and describe the unique properties of each

5.5 – I can name and write formulas for ionic compounds

5.6 – I can name and write formulas for molecular compounds

5.7 – I can determine whether a substance is ionic or molecular from the name or formula of a substance

Unit 6: Chemical Reactions: Particles and Energy

6.1 – I can identify evidence of chemical reactions in terms of macroscopic observations

6.2 – I can write balanced chemical equations including net ionic equations

6.3 – I can explain that coefficients in a chemical equation describe the quantities of substances involved and subscripts describe the number of atoms involved

6.4 – I can identify basic patterns in the way substances react (reaction types) and use them to predict products

6.5 – I can predict the solubility of products of a chemical reaction based on chemical properties

6.6 – I can describe endothermic and exothermic reactions in terms of storage or release of chemical potential energy

6.7 – I can calculate the enthalpy for a given chemical reaction using Hess’s Law

6.8 – I can use enthalpy, entropy and free energy to predict if a reaction will occur
Unit 7: Counting Particles Too Small to See

7.1 – I can convert between mass and moles of an element or compound

7.2 – I can convert between the number of particles and moles of an element or compound

7.3 – I can relate the molar concentration (molarity) of a solution to the number of moles and volume of the solution

7.4 – I can determine the empirical formula of a compound given the mass or percent composition

7.5 – I can determine the molecular formula of a compound given the mass or percent composition and molar mass

7.6 – I can calculate the rate of effusion for a gas
Unit 8: Stoichiometry

8.1 – I can calculate the number of moles of reactants and products in a chemical reaction from the number of moles of one reactant or product

8.2 – I can determine the theoretical yield for a reaction

8.3 – I can determine the percent yield for a reaction

8.4 – I can determine the limiting reactant in a chemical reaction

8.5 – I can use the ideal gas law equation to determine the number of moles in a sample of gas not at standard conditions
Unit 9: Oxidation- Reduction Reactions

9.1 – I can identify redox reactions as a type of chemical reaction

9.2 – I can assign oxidation numbers to elements in a redox reaction

9.3 – I can write oxidation and reduction half reactions

9.4 – I can balance redox equations
Unit 10: Acids and Bases
10.1 – I can distinguish between acids and bases and describe the ions they form

10.2 – I can write the balanced equation for a proton-transfer reaction

10.3 – I can define and calculate pH as the negative log concentration of hydronium ions in a solution

10.4 – I can write the names and formulas of common binary acids and oxyacids

10.5 – I can predict the products of a neutralization reaction between a strong acid and strong base

10.6 – I can distinguish between strong acids and bases and weak acids and bases

10.7 – I can write net ionic equations for reactions between strong acids/bases and weak acids/bases
Unit 11: The Nucleus

11.1 – I can draw the models of the atom proposed by Thomson and Rutherford.

11.2 – I can state the location in the atom, the charge, and the relative mass of protons and neutrons

11.3 – I can distinguish between the atomic number, mass number and atomic mass for an element

11.4 – I can calculate the average molar mass of an element using mass spectrometry data

11.5 – I can describe the three types of nuclear radiation in terms of mass, charge, penetrating power, ionization potential and biological hazard

11.6 – I can write a balanced equation for a nuclear decay reaction

11.7 – I can use the half-life equation to solve for the fraction of original material remaining,
elapsed time, or half-life

11.8 – I can analyze the pros and cons of nuclear technology including fission and fusion applications
Unit 12: Beyond the Nucleus

12.1 – I can draw the model of the atom proposed by Bohr

12.2 – I can represent the first 20 elements on the periodic table using men-in-well diagrams

12.3 – I can account for periodic trends in ionization energy, atomic radius and electronegativity

12.4 – I can represent the first 20 elements on the periodic table using electron configurations

12.5 – I can visualize the 3D molecular geometry of simple molecular compounds

12.6 – I can construct Lewis structures for simple molecular compounds

12.7 – I can determine whether a simple molecular compound is polar or non-polar

12.8 – I can identify the intermolecular attractions at work in a substance and their implications on material properties
Unit 13: Reaction Kinetics

13.1 – I can use collision theory to identify and explain factors that influence reaction rate

13.2 – I can explain the terms “activation energy” and “catalyst” and their relationship to reaction rates

13.3 – I can write the rate law for a simple reaction based on experimental data

13.4 – I can define equilibrium in terms of the reaction rates of a reversible reaction

13.5 – I can identify and explain factors that cause equilibrium to shift

Laboratory Skills

Lab.1 – I can conduct and clean up laboratory experiments properly and safely

Lab.2 – I can identify the hypothesis to be tested, phenomenon to be investigated, or the problem to be solved

Lab.3 – I can document experimental procedures clearly and completely

Lab.4 – I can record observations and experimental data neatly and accurately

Lab.5 – I can justify conclusions using experimental evidence
Communication Skills

Com.1 – I can communicate precision of measurements and calculations using significant figures

Com.2 – I can analyze the slope and y-intercept for a line of best fit to explain a scientific relationship.

Com.3 – I can convert between units of measurement

One response to “Honors Chemistry Learning Targets

  1. Pingback: 9th Grade Chemistry Objectives – Physics! Blog!

Leave a Reply

